Side Project – Post 2 – FoppyEmu added to Apple IIGS

Pictured below is one of the three Apple IIGS system I acquired earlier this month and my earlier side project post describes the process I used in my first pass at cleaning them.  But I have to say this really isn’t a side project as my purchase of the Floppy Emu Model B, floppy drive emulator now allows me to run programs writing with my Retro C IDE on the Apple IIgs.  The program being run in the picture below is one I wrote and first tested with the Atari emulator for the last update, so if you scroll down you will find a link to the video.

The Floppy Emu Model B from Big Mess O’ Wires is a really nice piece of kit.  This version comes with a connector for the disk drive port on the back of the IIGS or should also work off the back of a floppy drive (though I have not tested this yet). The Ribbon cable then connects to the smaller than credit card size board.  For the IIGS it can emulate 5.25, 3.5 floppy drives and SmartPort hard drive.  So far I have only tried the 5.25 version running my C programs and Appleworks 3.0.

floppyemu

Steven Chamberlin’s web site provides a full description and instructions on how to use, but here’s a couple of thoughts after my initial setup and use.

1. For using with the Apple IIGS be prepared to install new firmware, at first this had me a bit concerned, but it was as simple a downloading a zip file, unzipping and loading two files on to a micro SD card.  Put the card into the emulator, power on the Apple IIGS and follow 5 simple steps from the text file included.  I did have to try the first step several times to get it to take, I’m not sure if it was user error or some button issue but once loaded it is working like a champ.

2. As a new Apple IIGS user I had to learn the Control-Open Apple-Reset and Control-Shift-Open Apple – Reset sequence to easily boot from the Floppy Emu.

3. Selecting modes and disk images is really easy and it is a snap to just copy images to the card on my laptop.

I really like the Floppy Emu and I am extremely happy that I can now run my Retro C IDE built programs on the Apple IIGS in addition to my C64/C128 and Commodore Plus/4.

The next couple of posts will be for Retro C IDE Help menu and Call Back functions for Buttons and menus.  I’ve also been working on saving and loading projects in RCI.

 

Leave a Reply

